April 25th: Radiography and mental health

Occupational stress, burnout and mental health issues are well‐recognized problems in healthcare professional occupations.  This month we look at the experiences of medical radiation professionals.

Poulsen M G, Poulsen A, Baumann K C, McQuitty S, Sharpley C F. A cross‐sectional study of stressors and coping mechanisms used by radiation therapists and oncology nurses: Resilience in Cancer Care Study. JMRS. 2014. 61(4); 225-232

Further reading:

Ballinger J M, Cornello R J, Vealé, B. Stressors That Negatively Affect the Health of Radiology Professionals. JMIRS. 2008. 39(1), 11-15

Glaysher E, Vallis J, Reeves P. Post traumatic stress disorder and the forensic radiographer. Radiography. 2016. 22(3), e212–e215

Sarra A, Fuez C. Examining the Prevalence of Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Radiation Therapists Caring for Palliative Cancer Patients. JMIRS. 2018. 49(1); 49-55

April’s blog Jekyll and Hyde in the NHS is by Twitter takeover hero @BigRadTom!

Times: Vancouver 1pm (25th)/Calgary 2pm/Toronto 4pm/UK 8pm/Sydney 7am (26th)/Wellington 9am

 

Advertisements

March 21st: Are recent diagnostic radiography grads “fit for purpose”?

Imaging services have considerably changed in the last few years, along with the role of the radiographer. Has our education and subsequent career structure caught up? This month’s journal article examines the views of radiology managers from a range of medical imaging providers across the UK.

Sloane C, Miller P K. Informing radiography curriculum development:The views of UK radiology service managers concerning the “fitness of purpose” of recent diagnostic radiography graduates. Radiography. Vol 23, Supp 1; S16-S22

Our March blog “The same…..but different” by Penny Owens is available here.

T1: Is the current pre-registration diagnostic imaging curriculum content/ structure fit for purpose?

T2: Does the current generation of school leavers have the skills needed to succeed at higher education ?

T3: Do radiography career pathways need to be reconsidered?

T4: Looking wider, do we need to diversify the role of the radiographer?

Times: Vancouver 1pm (21st)/Calgary 2pm/Toronto 4pm/UK 8pm/Sydney 7am (22nd)/Wellington 9am

 Research Alert! This month’s chat is being used by Janice St John-Matthews as a scoping exercise as part of her Professional Doctorate. More details here.

 

Missed the chat? Symplur transcript is here.

Recommended Readings:

• Beardsmore, C. (2017). Apprenticeships: Your questions answered. Synergy News. Retrieved from https://www.sor.org/news/apprenticeships-your-questions-answered
• Liang, W. T., Reed, W., & Agudera, M. (2010). Preparedness for Clinical Practice – Perceptions of Newly Qualified Radiographers. Radiographer: The Official Journal of the Australian Institute of Radiography, 57(3), 22.
• Naylor, S., Ferris, C., & Burton, M. (2016). Exploring the transition from student to practitioner in diagnostic radiography. Radiography, 22(2), 131–136. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2015.09.006
• Nightingale, J. (2016). Radiography education funding – Crisis or opportunity? Radiography, 22(2), 105–106. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2016.03.003
• Westbrook, C. (2017). Opening the debate on MRI practitioner education – Is there a need for change? Radiography, 0 (0). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2016.12.011
• St. John-Matthews, J. (2015) Inter-Professional Learning – Closer than You Think. Available at: https://medradresearch.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/inter-professional-learning-closer-than-you-think-janice-st-john-matthews/
• Strudwick, R. M., & Taylor, K. (2017). An investigation into breast imaging as part of the undergraduate (UG) education of diagnostic radiography students in the UK. Radiography. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2016.12.007
• Williams, P. & Berry, J. (1999). What is competence? A new model for diagnostic radiographers: Part 1. Radiography, 5(4), 221–235. https://doi.org/10.1016/S1078-8174(99)90055-X

February 26th: Supporting Radiographer Advanced Practice

February’s chat will be about supporting our advanced practice. How can we move past barriers? What education do we need? What’s the evidence that it improves our patients’ care and outcomes?

Our paper is by Nick Woznitza et al, a UK clinical academic and consultant radiographer:

Woznitza N, Piper K, Rowe S, Bhowmik A. Immediate reporting of chest X-rays referred from general practice by reporting radiographers: a single centre feasibility study. Clinical Radiology. In press.

Read Nick’s accompanying blog Are you an Advanced Practitioner?

T1: Patient experience and service improvement often drive AP. How is this best identified?

T2: The study examined feasibility of a novel AP intervention. How is this best determined?

T3: How do you ensure the 4 core AP domains (expert clinical practice, research, leadership, education) are embedded into practice?

T4: The (UK) elephant in the room – can you be an AP if your role only incorporates expert clinical practice?

Further reading:

Times: Vancouver 12pm (26th)/Toronto 3pm/UK 8pm/Sydney 7am (27th)/Wellington 9am

 

February 26th: Supporting Radiographer Advanced practice

January 18th: Patients, healthcare professionals and social media

How do you feel about interacting with patients on social media? Can social media help us improve the patient experience? This month’s paper by Bolderston and Robins uses narrative to explore these issues with the intertwined stories of a radiation therapist and a patient undergoing treatment for breast cancer.

Bolderston A, Robins S. The Radiation Therapist and the Patient: Epiphanies, Stories,
and Social Media. JMIRS. In press. 2017

Pop over and read this month’s blog by Sue here.

T1: Interacting with customers via social media (SoMe) is core business for most organisations. Should healthcare be any different? What are your experiences?
T2: Are there open, contemporary channels of communications that exist between healthcare provider and patient (outside of SoMe)?
T3: We all claim to provide patient-centred care. Can SoMe help us do this?
T4: How do we separate our human and professional selves in the SoMe world? Should we?

 

Times: Vancouver 1pm (18th)/Toronto 4pm/UK 9pm/Sydney 8am (19th)/Wellington 10am

December 13th: Plenty of moustaches but not enough women (BMJ Christmas special)

December’s MedRadJClub will be a festive chat about healthcare leadership. Wehner et al’s paper discusses sex-related disparities in academic medical leadership in the US. While 50% of medical students are women, only 13% (137/1018) of department leaders at the top 50 NIH funded medical schools in the US are women. Why the difference? Is it because they don’t have moustaches? is it the same for MRS leadership? Tune in on December 13th to find out.

Wehner M R. Nead K T. Linos K. Linos E. Plenty of moustaches but not enough women: cross sectional study of medical leaders. BMJ. 2015; 351

This month’s blog is by Amanda Bolderston who recommends you have a glass or two of sherry while reading it.

Themes

  1. The study authors used a cross sectional analysis of institutional websites to identify leaders with facial hair and developed a moustache index, derived from multinomial logistic regression analyses. What do you think of this method, is it robust? Are there other ways of investigating this?
  2. The authors concluded that “we believe that every department and institution should strive for a moustache index ≥1”. How could we tackle this in our own institutions to encourage more female leaders? Should we?
  3. One strategy suggested was to increase “temporal flexibility” in job structures such as control over work schedules (e.g. for childcare) . Would this work for our profession and what do you think of it?
  4. Having solved the issue of the lack of women in healthcare leadership – let’s wind down with your favourite Christmas cracker joke! *

We have some MedRadJClub mugs to give away! All participants will be entered in a random draw after the chat. Merry Christmas!

Times: Vancouver 1pm (13th)/Toronto 4pm/UK 9pm/Sydney 8am (14th)/Wellington 10am

wehm028492.f2_default

 

*Topical example: Q: What is the difference between snowmen and snow-women? A: Snow balls!

November 14th: Pursuing graduate education

November’s chat paper, blog and moderation will be courtesy of University of Toronto MHScMRS program students Tasha McMasterWinter Spence and Joanna Javor.  The three students are taking part in MRJC for their course “Clinical Competence and Continuous Learning”. They will, of course, be ably supported by the MRJC team!

Muubuke A, Pope, E. Factors that Influence Radiographers’ Decisions to Pursue Postgraduate Education: An Exploratory Qualitative Study. 2015. JMIRS. 46(2); 223-230

This month’s blog is by Winter Spence and available here.

Times: Vancouver 1pm (21st)/Toronto 4pm/UK 9pm/Sydney 8am (15th)/Wellington 10am

October 17th: Knowledge Translation in 140 Characters or Less

“Social media offers a new-age platform that influences the practice of  (MRS professionals)”… you probably agree with this if you are a regular at MedRadJClub!

Bola,R and Liszewski, B.  Knowledge Translation in 140 Characters or Less: #ProfessionalDevelopment #Collaboration #Patientengagement

This month we talked about the impact of social media on patient engagement, using Twitter to amplify your research message, virtual professional communities of practice and more. October’s chat was moderated by Kim Meeking. This month’s accompanying blog is by the article authors Ruby and Brian.

Themes:

1. What are the perceived benefits of using social media for healthcare professionals?

2. How do you use social media? And how has using Twitter benefited you as a healthcare professional?

3. Do your professional responsibilities prevent you from engaging with social media? With other professionals? With patients?

4. Patients are increasingly turning to sites like Twitter to share their experiences and to seek support. How can we capitalize on the potential benefits of Twitter and bridge the gap between practitioner and patient?

Further reading:

 

Missed out? Catch up here!