January 16th: Artificial intelligence and the medical radiation sciences

wall e toy on beige pad

Photo by Lenin Estrada on Pexels.com

 

This year we celebrate MRJC’s 5th birthday! March marks 5 years and 60 chats. All this year we’ll be marking the occasion so stay tuned!

January’s chat is all about AI! Our paper is:

Murphy A, Liszewski B (2019). Artificial Intelligence and the Medical Radiation Profession: How Our Advocacy Must Inform Future Practice. JMIRS. 50(4), S15 – 19.

Want more? The latest edition of JMIRS has a LOT more AI related papers here.

Our blog this month is by Caitlin Gillan and is entitled “AI? Eh? Oy!”

THEMES:

1. What areas of imaging and oncology practice are likely to integrate artificial intelligence (AI)?

2. How might AI change the role of the radiographer? What knowledge and skills do we need to prepare for the integration of AI into clinical practice?

3. The paper concluded with the importance of engagement from radiation professionals – how are we influencing the development and implementation of AI technologies?

Missed the chat? Catch up with Wakelet here. 


Times: 
Vancouver 12pm (16th) /Edmonton 1pm (16th) /Toronto 3pm (16th) /UK 8pm (16th)/Brisbane 6am (17th) Sydney & Melbourne 7am (17th) /Auckland 9am (17th)

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s