August 21st: Sexual health

August’s #SexyMedRadJClub looks at the role (and awareness of) radiation therapists  when addressing their patients’ sexual health needs.

Turner A. Sexual Health Issues in Patients with Cancer—An Exploratory Mixed Methods Study of the Awareness Levels of Radiation Therapists. JMIRS. 2019, 50(1); 106-112

Themes:

  1. Nearly 2/3 of people have sexual health issues post-cancer treatment. How would you define sexual health and why is it important in cancer survivorship?
  2. 75% of the survey respondents had talked about sexual health with their patients. Is this a “normal and expected” part of our role?
  3. Turner commented that “other sexual orientations” may not have been fully included in her study, do you think this is also true in practice?
  4. The study respondents seemed to develop skills mainly through their clinical interactions with patients (and not through specific education). Does this ring true and what might improve things?

Please also see our blog-of-the-month by Sean Ralph.

Missed the chat or want a recap? Click here for the chat summary!

Additional reading:

Times: Vancouver 1pm (21st) /Edmonton 2pm (21st) /Toronto 4pm (21st) /UK 9pm (21st)/Sydney 6am (22nd) /Auckland 8am (22nd)

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s