November 21st: Working with children

We often hear “children are not just small adults”  and that they have unique needs when we image or treat them. How do we manage their anxiety and ensure a safe and relatively stress-free experience? This month’s paper discusses MRI procedures, but we will also talk about other imaging modalities and the challenges of treating children with radiation therapy.

Kada S, Satinovic M, Booth L, Miller P K. Managing discomfort and developing participation in non-emergency MRI: Children’s coping strategies during their first procedure. Radiography 2018. In press.

Themes:

T1: The article talks about preparative (prior to arrival) participation being important to manage the experience. How does your department manage this?

T2: Other key areas of support are enabling participation (before the scan) and sustaining participation (during the scan). How do you approach these key points with paediatric patients?

T3: The article comments” this order of support rarely seems to be given to their adult counterparts”? Do you agree? How can we improve this?

Additional reading:

Hansen S. Feed‐and‐sleep: a non‐invasive and safe alternative to general anaesthesia when imaging very young children. JMRS. 2013.

Jacques A, Udowicz, Bayliss Y, Jensen K. Thinking Differently About the Kids: An Innovative Approach to Improve Care Provided to Pediatric Patients Undergoing External Beam Radiation Therapy. 2014. JMIRS. 45(3), 269-275

Gårdling J, Edwinson Månsson M, Törnqvist E, Hallström I. Caring for children undergoing radiotherapy treatment: Swedish radiotherapy nurses’ perceptions. 2015 Eur J Onc Nur. 19(6), 660-666

Munn, Z. and Jordan, Z. (2013) Interventions to Reduce Anxiety, Distress, and the Need for Sedation in Pediatric Patients Undergoing Magnetic Resonance Imaging: A Systematic Review, Journal Of Radiology Nursing, 32 (2), pp. 87-96

Times: Vancouver 12pm/Edmonton 1pm/Toronto 3pm/UK 8pm/Sydney 7am (22nd)/Auckland 9am (22nd)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s