March 21st: Are recent diagnostic radiography grads “fit for purpose”?

Imaging services have considerably changed in the last few years, along with the role of the radiographer. Has our education and subsequent career structure caught up? This month’s journal article examines the views of radiology managers from a range of medical imaging providers across the UK.

Sloane C, Miller P K. Informing radiography curriculum development:The views of UK radiology service managers concerning the “fitness of purpose” of recent diagnostic radiography graduates. Radiography. Vol 23, Supp 1; S16-S22

Our March blog “The same…..but different” by Penny Owens is available here.

T1: Is the current pre-registration diagnostic imaging curriculum content/ structure fit for purpose?

T2: Does the current generation of school leavers have the skills needed to succeed at higher education ?

T3: Do radiography career pathways need to be reconsidered?

T4: Looking wider, do we need to diversify the role of the radiographer?

Times: Vancouver 1pm (21st)/Calgary 2pm/Toronto 4pm/UK 8pm/Sydney 7am (22nd)/Wellington 9am

 Research Alert! This month’s chat is being used by Janice St John-Matthews as a scoping exercise as part of her Professional Doctorate. More details here.

 

Missed the chat? Symplur transcript is here.

Recommended Readings:

• Beardsmore, C. (2017). Apprenticeships: Your questions answered. Synergy News. Retrieved from https://www.sor.org/news/apprenticeships-your-questions-answered
• Liang, W. T., Reed, W., & Agudera, M. (2010). Preparedness for Clinical Practice – Perceptions of Newly Qualified Radiographers. Radiographer: The Official Journal of the Australian Institute of Radiography, 57(3), 22.
• Naylor, S., Ferris, C., & Burton, M. (2016). Exploring the transition from student to practitioner in diagnostic radiography. Radiography, 22(2), 131–136. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2015.09.006
• Nightingale, J. (2016). Radiography education funding – Crisis or opportunity? Radiography, 22(2), 105–106. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2016.03.003
• Westbrook, C. (2017). Opening the debate on MRI practitioner education – Is there a need for change? Radiography, 0 (0). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2016.12.011
• St. John-Matthews, J. (2015) Inter-Professional Learning – Closer than You Think. Available at: https://medradresearch.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/inter-professional-learning-closer-than-you-think-janice-st-john-matthews/
• Strudwick, R. M., & Taylor, K. (2017). An investigation into breast imaging as part of the undergraduate (UG) education of diagnostic radiography students in the UK. Radiography. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.radi.2016.12.007
• Williams, P. & Berry, J. (1999). What is competence? A new model for diagnostic radiographers: Part 1. Radiography, 5(4), 221–235. https://doi.org/10.1016/S1078-8174(99)90055-X

Advertisements

One thought on “March 21st: Are recent diagnostic radiography grads “fit for purpose”?

  1. Pingback: December 13th: Festive special | medradjclub

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s