January 18th: Patients, healthcare professionals and social media

How do you feel about interacting with patients on social media? Can social media help us improve the patient experience? This month’s paper by Bolderston and Robins uses narrative to explore these issues with the intertwined stories of a radiation therapist and a patient undergoing treatment for breast cancer.

Bolderston A, Robins S. The Radiation Therapist and the Patient: Epiphanies, Stories,
and Social Media. JMIRS. In press. 2017

Pop over and read this month’s blog by Sue here.

T1: Interacting with customers via social media (SoMe) is core business for most organisations. Should healthcare be any different? What are your experiences?
T2: Are there open, contemporary channels of communications that exist between healthcare provider and patient (outside of SoMe)?
T3: We all claim to provide patient-centred care. Can SoMe help us do this?
T4: How do we separate our human and professional selves in the SoMe world? Should we?

 

Times: Vancouver 1pm (18th)/Toronto 4pm/UK 9pm/Sydney 8am (19th)/Wellington 10am

Advertisements

One thought on “January 18th: Patients, healthcare professionals and social media

  1. Pingback: December 13th: Festive special | medradjclub

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s