September 21st: LGBT and healthcare

How do patients that are  lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) experience healthcare? What can we do as MRS professionals to improve our practice in this area? Come along in September and learn more!

September’s article is: Bolderston A, Ralph S. Improving the Health Care Experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual or Transgendered patients. Radiography. 22(3), e207–e211

While you are here, pop over to this month’s blog by Ben Stuttard.

Themes:

  1. What has been your training and experience around treating LGBTQ patients in the past?
  2. How does your organization approach this? Any examples of improvements in your workplace?
  3. After this chat, are there things you might do differently at work or at home?

Times: Vancouver 1pm (21st)/Toronto 4pm/UK 9pm/Sydney 6am (22nd)/Wellington 8am

Further reading:

Macmillan (UK) LGBTQ Experiences of Cancer Care Project

Fenway Institute (US) – free educational resources

Stonewall (UK) Advocacy and more

Cancer’s Margins (Canada) – LGBT2Q community-and-arts based approach to exploring sexual and gender diversity, and experiences of cancer health, support and care

Research alert! Some of the tweets in this month’s chat will be sampled/themed for a research poster. Contact Sophia for more details.

Missed the chat? The Storify is here!

Advertisements

One thought on “September 21st: LGBT and healthcare

  1. Pingback: A blog about a paper about a tweet chat about a paper… – doctoralbraindump

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s